

Special Meeting of Council

Wednesday 26 May 2021

Held Electronically

MINUTES

These Minutes were confirmed as a true an held on 17 June 2021.	d correct record of proceedings at a meeting
Signature:	

Minutes TPRC Special Meeting of Council - 26 May 2021

TABLE OF CONTENTS

MEM	BERSHIP	3
1.	OFFICIAL OPENING	5
DISC	LOSURE OF INTERESTS	5
2.	PUBLIC STATEMENT/QUESTION TIME	5
3.	APOLOGIES AND LEAVE OF ABSENCE	5
4.	PETITIONS	5
5.	CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES	5
5A	BUSINESS ARISING FROM MINUTES	5
6.	ANNOUNCEMENTS BY CHAIR (WITHOUT DISCUSSION)	5
7.	ADMINISTRATION REPORTS AS PRESENTED (ITEMS 7.1 – 7.2)	5
7.1	STATEMENT OF FINANCIAL ACTIVITY FOR THE MONTH OF MARCH 2021	6
7.2	TPRC FYE 2021 BUDGET - REVIEW OF DISTRIBUTIONS	6
8.	COMMITTEE REPORT 8.1	6
8.1	PROCESS FOR APPOINTMENT OF TPRC CEO	6
9.	ELECTED MEMBERS MOTIONS OF WHICH NOTICE HAS BEEN GIVEN	7
10.	QUESTIONS BY ELECTED MEMBERS OF WHICH DUE NOTICE HAS BEEN GIV	ΈN
11.	URGENT BUSINESS APPROVED BY THE CHAIR	7
12.	GENERAL BUSINESS	7
13.	FORMAL CLOSURE OF MEETING	7

MEMBERSHIP

OWNER COUNCIL	MEMBER	ALTERNATE MEMBER
Town of Cambridge	Cr Andres Timmermanis (DEPUTY CHAIR)	Cr Gary Mack
City of Joondalup	Cr John Chester Cr Phillipa Taylor	Cr Christopher May Cr Suzanne Thompson
City of Perth	Cr Brent Fleeton	Cr Clyde Bevan
City of Stirling	Cr Karen Caddy (CHAIR) Cr David Lagan Cr Suzanne Migdale Cr Bianca Sandri	Cr Karlo Perkov
Town of Victoria Park	Cr Claire Anderson	
City of Vincent	Cr Joanne Fotakis	Cr Alex Castle
City of Wanneroo	Cr Brett Treby Cr Domenic Zappa	Cr Natalie Sangalli Cr Vinh Nguyen

PRESENT

Chair Cr Karen Caddy

Councillors Cr John Chester

Cr Brent Fleeton
Cr Joanne Fotakis
Cr David Lagan
Cr Suzanne Migdale
Cr Bianca Sandri
Cr Philippa Taylor

Cr Andres Timmermanis Cr Domenic Zappa

Alternate Members Cr Natalie Sangalli

Staff Mr Tony Arias (Chief Executive Officer)

Ms Vickie Wesolowski (Executive Assistant)

Apologies Councillors Cr Claire Anderson

Cr Brett Treby

Leave of Absence Nil

Absent Nil

Consultants Nil

Apologies Participant

Councils' Advisers

Mr John Giorgi (Town of Cambridge)
Mr Stuart Jardine (City of Stirling)
Mr David MacLennan (City of Vincent)
Ms Michelle Reynolds (City of Perth)
Mr Daniel Simms (City of Wanneroo)
Mr Anthony Vuleta (Town of Victoria Park)

In Attendance

Participant Councils'

Advisers

Mr James Pearson (City of Joondalup)

Mr Stevan Rodic (City of Stirling)
Ms Noelene Jennings (City of Wanneroo)

Members of the Public Nil

Press Nil

1. OFFICIAL OPENING

The Chair declared the meeting open at 6:32pm and welcomed Cr Natalie Sangalli - Alternate Member (City of Wanneroo) to the TPRC meeting.

DISCLOSURE OF INTERESTS

Nil

2. PUBLIC STATEMENT/QUESTION TIME

Nil

3. APOLOGIES AND LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Apologies: Cr Brett Treby and Cr Claire Anderson

4. PETITIONS

Nil

5. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

Ordinary Meeting of Council - 15 April 2021

Moved Cr Timmermanis, Seconded Cr Chester.

That the minutes of the Ordinary Meeting of Council of 15 April 2021 be confirmed, and signed by the Chair, as a true and correct record of proceedings.

The Motion was put and declared CARRIED (11/0).

5A BUSINESS ARISING FROM MINUTES

Nil

6. ANNOUNCEMENTS BY CHAIR (WITHOUT DISCUSSION)

Nil

7. ADMINISTRATION REPORTS AS PRESENTED (ITEMS 7.1 – 7.2)

7.1 STATEMENT OF FINANCIAL ACTIVITY FOR THE MONTH OF MARCH 2021

Moved Cr Migdale, Seconded Cr Zappa.

[The recommendation in the agenda]

That the Council RECEIVES and NOTES the Statement of Financial Activity for the month of March 2021.

The Motion was put and declared CARRIED (11/0).

7.2 TPRC FYE 2021 BUDGET - REVIEW OF DISTRIBUTIONS

Moved Cr Zappa, Seconded Cr Migdale.

[The recommendation in the agenda]

That the Council:

- 1. APPROVES the TPRC Budget FYE 2021 being amended to increase the distribution to member local governments from \$3.0M to \$9.00M.
- 2. REQUESTS the CEO to develop a Payment of Distributions Policy ahead of adoption of the Budget FYE 2022 in August 2021.

The Motion was put and declared CARRIED (11/0) by ABSOLUTE MAJORITY.

8. COMMITTEE REPORT 8.1

CEO PERFORMANCE REVIEW COMMITTEE (20 MAY 2021)

8.1 PROCESS FOR APPOINTMENT OF TPRC CEO

Moved Cr Lagan, Seconded Cr Sandri.

[The recommendation in the agenda]

- 1. That Council UNDERTAKE the appointment of a Temporary CEO for a period of 12 months.
- 2. That the TPRC ENGAGE contract HR resources (utilising the WALGA panel if appropriate) to assist Council with the selection and engagement of the Temporary CEO and the offboarding of the current CEO.
- 3. That a Selection Panel comprising the following members BE ESTABLISHED to support the recruitment of the temporary CEO:
 - (a) Cr Karen Caddy (Chair);
 - (b) Cr Andres Timmermanis (Deputy Chair);
 - (c) Cr Claire Anderson;
 - (d) Cr David Lagan;
 - (e) Cr Bianca Sandri;

- (f) Cr Philippa Taylor;
- (g) Cr Brett Treby.
- 4. That the Selection Panel REVIEW the draft Selection Criteria and Position Description provided by the CEO and recommend to Council any changes applicable to the Temporary CEO role.

The Motion was put and declared CARRIED (11/0) by ABSOLUTE MAJORITY.

9. ELECTED MEMBERS MOTIONS OF WHICH NOTICE HAS BEEN GIVEN

Nil

10. QUESTIONS BY ELECTED MEMBERS OF WHICH DUE NOTICE HAS BEEN GIVEN

Nil

11. URGENT BUSINESS APPROVED BY THE CHAIR

Nil

12. GENERAL BUSINESS

Nil

13. FORMAL CLOSURE OF MEETING

The Chair declared the meeting closed at 7:10pm.