

## Special Meeting of Council

Thursday 16 November 2023

# **MINUTES**

City of Stirling 25 Cedric Street, Stirling WA, 6021

These Minutes were confirm	ed as a true	and correct	record of	proceedings	at a
meeting held on 7 December	2023.			_	

Signature:	
	Chair

## **TABLE OF CONTENTS**

MEN	/IBERSHIP	3
1.	OFFICIAL OPENING	5
2.	ELECTION OF CHAIR	5
3.	ELECTION OF DEPUTY CHAIR	6
4.	APOLOGIES AND LEAVE OF ABSENCE	6
5.	DISCLOSURE OF INTERESTS	6
6.	PUBLIC STATEMENT/QUESTION TIME	6
7.	ANNOUNCEMENTS BY CHAIR (WITHOUT DISCUSSION)	6
8.	PETITIONS	7
9.	CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES	
10.	ELECTION OF COMMITTEES	7
11.	ADMINISTRATION REPORTS AS PRESENTED	8
12.	ELECTED MEMBERS MOTIONS OF WHICH NOTICE HAS BEEN GIVEN	8
13.	QUESTIONS BY ELECTED MEMBERS OF WHICH DUE NOTICE HAS BEEN GIV	/EN
		8
14.	FORMAL CLOSURE OF MEETING	8

## **MEMBERSHIP**

OWNER COUNCIL MEMBER		ALTERNATE MEMBER
Town of Cambridge	Cr Jane Cutler	Cr Michael Le Page
City of Joondalup	Cr John Chester Cr Lewis Hutton	Cr Russ Fishwick Cr Phillip Vinciullo
City of Perth	Cr Brent Fleeton	Cr Viktor Ko
City of Stirling	Cr Tony Krsticevic Cr Suzanne Migdale Cr David Lagan Cr Karlo Perkov	Cr Teresa Olow Cr Rob Paparde
Town of Victoria Park	Cr Claire Anderson	Cr Bronwyn Ife
City of Vincent Cr Ashley Wallace		Cr Suzanne Worner
City of Wanneroo Cr Helen Berry Cr Sonet Coetzee		Cr Phil Bedworth Cr Vinh Nguyen

#### **PRESENT**

**Councillors** Cr Claire Anderson

Cr Helen Berry
Cr John Chester
Cr Sonet Coetzee
Cr Brent Fleeton
Cr Lewis Hutton
Cr Tony Krsticevic
Cr Suzanne Migdale
Cr Karlo Perkov
Cr Ashley Wallace

Alternate Members Cr Teresa Olow

Cr Michael Le Page

Staff Mr Chris Adams (Chief Executive Officer)

Mr Daniel Govus (Senior Governance Advisor – City of Stirling)
Ms Regan Clyde (Senior Governance Officer – City of Stirling)

**Apologies Councillors** Cr Jane Cutler

Cr David Lagan

Leave of Absence Nil

**Absent** Nil

Consultants Nil

Apologies Participant Councils' Advisers

Mr David MacLennan (City of Vincent)
Mr Bill Parker (City of Wanneroo)

Mr James Pearson (City of Joondalup)
Ms Michelle Reynolds (City of Perth)
Mr Gary Tuffin (Town of Cambridge)
Mr Anthony Vuleta (Town of Victoria Park)

In Attendance

**Participant Councils'** 

**Advisers** 

Mr Stevan Rodic (City of Stirling)

Members of the Public Nil

Press Nil

#### 1. OFFICIAL OPENING

The Chief Executive Officer, Mr Chris Adams, assumed the chair at 5:03pm in order to conduct the meeting until election of a Chair, and formally declared open the Special Meeting of the Catalina Regional Council of 16 November 2023.

The Chief Executive Officer congratulated Councillors on their election to the Catalina Regional Council and wished them well in their deliberations over the next two years.

A formal declaration was verbally made by all Councillors present, and declaration forms were signed to indicate that members agree to abide by the *Local Government (Model Code of Conduct) Regulations 2021*.

#### 2. ELECTION OF CHAIR

In accordance with Clause 4(2) of Schedule 2.3 of the *Local Government Act 1995*, the Chief Executive Officer presided over the conduct of the election of the Chair.

The Chief Executive Officer advised the meeting that he had received three nominations in writing for the position of Chair of Catalina Regional Council, being:

- Councillor Jane Cutler
- Councillor Brent Fleeton
- Councillor Tony Krsticevic

The CEO called for any further nominations. There being none, the CEO declared nominations for Chair closed.

In accordance with Regulation 11A of the *Local Government (Constitution) Regulations 1998*, ballot papers were prepared, with the nominated Councillors listed in alphabetical order. The Chief Executive Officer authenticated each ballot paper by initialling it.

A ballot box was provided to Councillors, and a secret ballot was undertaken.

The Governance Officer oversaw the counting of the votes for Chair by the CEO.

In accordance with Regulation 11F of the Local Government (Constitution) Regulations 1998, the Chair declared Councillor Tony Krsticevic elected as Chair of Catalina Regional Council until 18 October 2025.

Cr Krsticevic made the declaration of office in the prescribed form and assumed the Chair to conduct the remainder of the meeting.

#### 3. ELECTION OF DEPUTY CHAIR

In accordance with Clause 8(2) of Schedule 2.3 of the *Local Government Act 1995*, the Chair presided over the conduct of the election of the Deputy Chair.

The Chair informed the meeting that he had received three nominations in writing for the position of Deputy Chair of Catalina Regional Council, being:

- Councillor Jane Cutler
- Councillor David Lagan
- Councillor Suzanne Migdale

The Chair called for any further nominations. There being none, the Chair declared nominations for Deputy Chair closed.

In accordance with Regulation 11A of the *Local Government (Constitution) Regulations 1998*, ballot papers were prepared, with the nominated Councillors listed in alphabetical order. The Chief Executive Officer authenticated each ballot paper by initialling it.

A ballot box was provided to Councillors, and a secret ballot was undertaken.

The Governance Officer oversaw the counting of the votes for Deputy Chair by the CEO.

In accordance with Regulation 11F of the *Local Government (Constitution) Regulations* 1998, the Chair declared Councillor Suzanne Migdale elected as Deputy Chair of Catalina Regional Council until 18 October 2025.

Cr Migdale made the declaration of office in the prescribed form.

#### 4. APOLOGIES AND LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Nil

#### 5. DISCLOSURE OF INTERESTS

Nil

#### 6. PUBLIC STATEMENT/QUESTION TIME

Nil

#### 7. ANNOUNCEMENTS BY CHAIR (WITHOUT DISCUSSION)

Nil

#### 8. PETITIONS

Nil

#### 9. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

Nil

#### 10. ELECTION OF COMMITTEES

#### 10.1 Audit Committee

The Chair called for nominations from elected members for Audit Committee membership.

The following nominations were received:

- Cr Helen Berry
- Cr Jane Cutler
- Cr Lewis Hutton
- Cr Tony Krsticevic
- Cr Suzanne Migdale
- Cr Karlo Perkov

No further nominations were received.

Moved Cr Migdale, Seconded Cr Perkov.

[The recommendation in the agenda]

That in accordance with the provisions of the *Local Government Act* 1995, the following Council members be APPOINTED BY ABSOLUTE MAJORITY to the Audit Committee:

- 1. Cr Helen Berry
- 2. Cr Jane Cutler
- 3. Cr Lewis Hutton
- 4. Cr Tony Krsticevic
- 5. Cr Suzanne Migdale
- 6. Cr Karlo Perkov

#### (The Chair will be elected at the next Audit Committee Meeting)

The Motion was put and declared CARRIED by ABSOLUTE MAJORITY (12/0).

**For:** Councillors Anderson, Berry, Chester, Coetzee, Fleeton, Hutton, Krsticevic, Migdale, Le Page, Perkov and Wallace.

Against: Nil.

#### 11. ADMINISTRATION REPORTS AS PRESENTED

### 11.1 Change of December Ordinary Council Meeting Location

Moved Cr Chester, Seconded Cr Migdale

That the Ordinary Meeting of Council for the Catalina Regional Council that is scheduled for Thursday 7 December 2023 be CHANGED from an online/instantaneous communication meeting to an in-person meeting with the venue of the meeting being the City of Stirling Council Chambers.

The Motion was put and declared CARRIED BY ABSOLUTE MAJORITY (12/0).

**For:** Councillors Anderson, Berry, Chester, Coetzee, Fleeton, Hutton, Krsticevic, Migdale, Le Page, Perkov and Wallace.

Against: Nil.

#### 12. ELECTED MEMBERS MOTIONS OF WHICH NOTICE HAS BEEN GIVEN

Nil

# 13. QUESTIONS BY ELECTED MEMBERS OF WHICH DUE NOTICE HAS BEEN GIVEN

Nil

#### 14. FORMAL CLOSURE OF MEETING

The Chair declared the meeting closed at 5:22pm.